YES, A ROAD TRIP WITH SIBLINGS IS A BLOODY DAMN GOOD IDEA

I have grown up with four siblings- the eldest being 9 years elder to me and the youngest (our only brother) being 1.5 years younger- with me being the fourth child out of five.

From being told that I’m adopted (jokingly, of course) to being loved and cared for, I now cherish all those years I spent with my siblings- The Famous Five- as we proudly used to call ourselves. Now that we’ve grown up and moved away (NOT grown apart) from each other, I reminisce and sometimes sob over all those years of togetherness that I took for granted. Perhaps it’s true, distance does bring us closer.

Every year’s summer holidays would bring a family vacation for us. From North to South to West, we covered most of India, leaving the East to conquer later. However, that day never came since two of my sisters got married.

Every trip to the different states that we’d visit would include customary Road trips between cities. Ammi, Papa and the five of us would have the best times away from the responsibilities of home, office and school. 

Oh how I wish for those days to come back!

Well, some parts of those days did return with TVF’s webseries, Tripling. A number of memories resurfaced and left me wanting for more.

tripling6
Source

Tripling brings out all those emotions that a love-hate relationship entails. And you know what? A sibling relationship best exemplifies a love-hate relationship. 

Yes, we had our moments when we absolutely hated each other’s presence and also when we longed to see each other. TBH, I sometimes wished for my eldest sister, Fatima appi*, to get married soon. Y’know, she was mostly in the character of Hitler who’d whip us on not studying or make us do her share of work. Yet she was the one who set great examples for us to follow, at the same time.

My second sister, Hadia appi, was mostly quiet and reclusive. She was the most organized EVER! I would hate it every time she would command me to assemble the naashta tray whenever guests would arrive (which would be 24×7 since Papa is a journalist and our day would usually commence in the night). But I can never forget all those times when Hadia appi became that Angel who’d lend us, the poor famished souls,  Rs 10 to buy 3 samosas from the canteen during the lunch break in school.

Maryam appi, my third sister, has always been more like a friend and confidante than a 2-year-older sibling. Although I cannot really behave disobediently with her, I can share every little detail of my life with her without caring about judgments.

Annnd, Saif- our younger brother- still remains that guy with whom I can openly fight and yet not be able to remain angry for long owing to his absolutely irksome habit of becoming too nosey whenever I put up the get-lost-I-ain’t-gonna-talk facade to teach him a lesson.

Despite our differences, I haven’t been too vocal or expressive like Chitvan, Chandan or Chanchal (episode 4). Respect, you see. But these three show us that the more vocal about clearing doubts you are, the better your relationship with others will become. (Just make sure to voice arguments politely and not scar your loved ones for life in the process.)

daedae4071b803d56302eb045627b3bc_hero-ep5
tvfplay.com

I relate with Chitvan the most. Although I’m not as callous and IDGAF-ey as him, I do like simplifying things. “Hamare beech issue kya Hai mere toh yeh he samajh nahi aa raha” is what I resonated with the most. I just don’t understand the need for complication. But again, I cannot coolly turn up with blue hair as much as I’d love to. Y’know, I don’t want Ammi’s flying Chappal to reach me from Lucknow to Mumbai.

This brings me to the parents. Man, this trio’s parents are surreal! How many super cool parents have you come across? By super cool, I mean those that drug their kids with cookies. So yes, they’re like surreal or something. TBH, my father who had resentfully remarked at my brother’s side-trimmed hair, would’ve thrown him out had he stepped in with a blue head.

14536494_1231949720179737_1021968311_o
video screengrab / tvfplay app

As for Ammi, I can’t say whether she’d be able to keep her cool on learning that her children have major problems to deal with, (thankfully,  we don’t) like Shalu (the mother) does.

14522329_1231949680179741_118501658_o
Shalu / video screengrab / tvfplay app

But yes, we have been allowed to go on trips over phone calls and, at the same time, we’ve been disallowed stay-overs at our friends’ places IN THE SAME CITY for some reason that we’ve never learned. Yes, we have been let loose to live, study and work in different cities but we have also been bound to wear clothes that Ammi picked for us without daring to rebel. Isn’t that somewhat like Chitvan who, in spite of having super cool parents and all, cannot smoke up when they’re around? Respect again, Y’know.

To conclude, Tripling gave me several reflections of my life and brought back my long-forgotten road trip memories with my family. I totally loved it! And yeah, Chitvan’s M*****f***a performance was amazing [can’t say it because my elder sisters are gonna read this. Respect, Y’know. ;)]

YES, A ROAD TRIP WITH SIBLINGS IS A BLOODY DAMN GOOD IDEA.

*Appi means Didi

Author: HamnaHS

I like to judge! Wait, before you judge me, let me tell you that I like constructive judgement which in other words means that I review stuff. I'm one of those who start looking at a music video on YouTube and end up watching a Short film or a Tech Video, that is, something on entirely different lines. I like to wander in that virtual world while sipping on my tea. And thus, I'm here to describe the discoveries of my wanderings.

Leave a Reply

